TALLAHASSEE (CBSMiami/NSF) — Hours after supporters of President Donald Trump stormed the U.S. Capitol, Congress early Thursday certified the results of the 2020 presidential contest, accepting 306 Electoral College votes for President-elect Joe Biden and 232 for Trump.

But not all of Florida’s delegation fully accepted those results.

Objecting to the slates from Arizona and Pennsylvania were Florida Republican Reps. Mario Diaz-Balart, Kat Cammack, Byron Donalds, Neal Dunn, Scott Franklin, Matt Gaetz, Carlos Giminez, Brian Mast, Bill Posey, John Rutherford, Greg Steube and Dan Webster.

U.S. Sen. Rick Scott joined those objecting to the Pennsylvania results but accepted the totals from Arizona.

Three Florida lawmakers did not vote.

Republican Reps. Gus Bilirakis and Maria Salazar were unable to attend due to COVID-19. Democratic Rep. Alcee Hastings continues to be treated for pancreatic cancer.

Chair of the Florida Democratic Party Terrie Rizzo released this statement following the vote:

“Yesterday we saw a violent insurrection at the Capitol incited by President Trump and led by his supporters who believe the election was stolen from them. This is a conspiracy theory – full stop. Joe Biden is the president-elect and he won in a free and fair election.

And yet even after this desecration of the Capitol that put the lives of our Congress Members and staff at risk, 12 of the Congressional leaders from Florida voted to invalidate election results from swing states where they didn’t like the outcomes. It is despicable.

Fanning the flames of these conspiracy theories, and giving them weight in the halls of our Congress despite over 60 failed lawsuits and absolutely no evidence is dangerous and deeply antithetical to our democracy. These Congress Members should be ashamed and will be held accountable by Florida voters.”

(©2021 CBS Local Media. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The News Service of Florida contributed to this report.)

CBSMiami.com Team