Follow CBSMIAMI.COM: Facebook | Twitter

LAS VEGAS (CBSMiami/AP) – Florida Panthers veteran Jaromir Jagr has won the Masterton Trophy for his perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

READ MORE: Nearly 11-Foot Gator Found Hanging Out In Florida Pool

The 44-year-old forward didn’t attend the ceremony in Las Vegas because he was with his ailing father.

Jagr was rewarded for his seemingly ageless skills and enthusiasm. The Czech veteran scored 66 points in his 22nd NHL season to lead the Panthers, who set franchise records with 47 wins and 103 points.

Also nominated for awards were head coach Gerard Gallant and center Aleksander Barkov.

Gallant was one of three finalists for Jack Adams Trophy.

However, Gallant lost out on the coach of the year award to Barry Trotz of the Washington Capitals.

Gallant’s Panthers exceeded all expectations with a franchise-record 47 victories and 103 points.

READ MORE: Miami-Dade Commission Tackles Development Proposal Near Homestead, Cutler Bay

Barkov was up for the Lady Byng Trophy which is given annually to “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

The 20 year old was competing with Anze Kopitar of the Los Angeles Kings and Loui Eriksson of the Boston Bruins.

Kopitar, who had already won the Selke Trophy, ended up beating out Barkov and Eriksson.

Barkov is the first Panthers player to be a Lady Byng finalist since defenseman Brian Campbell won the award in 2012.

The NHL Awards show is being held in Las Vegas, where the city was buzzing about getting an expansion franchise. New owner Bill Foley will pay $500 million for a team that will play at T-Mobile Arena a couple of miles away.

Actor Will Arnett is hosting the league’s annual attempt to merge hockey and entertainment, usually with mixed results.

MORE NEWS: Police Investigate Possible Road Rage Shooting In NW Miami

(TM and © Copyright 2016 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2016 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)