SUNRISE (CBSMiami) – Seat belts are not an option, and for the next few weeks, Sunrise police are enforcing drivers to, “Click it or Ticket.”
Seat belts have worked to help thousands of lives so, in an effort to keep the public safer, the Sunrise Police Department is enforcing the law from May 12th through May 26th.READ MORE: Crews To Demolish Remains Of FIU Bridge That Killed 6 In Collapse
Drivers should be aware that not wearing a seatbelt is a primary stop violation—meaning police will not need any other reason to stop a driver if a seat belt is not being worn.
Seat belts remain one of the most effective safety tools in a vehicle.
Also, with the start of National Police Week, state officials are looking ahead and have designated the month of June as, “Move Over-Slow Down-Save a Life” month.READ MORE: Dates For Formula 1 Grand Prix In Miami Gardens Confirmed For May 6-8, 2022
“All too often, our law enforcement officers are in grave danger when they are working Florida’s roadways, and we support every effort to better educate the public about the Move Over law,” said Springfield Police Chief Philip Thorne, President of the Florida Police Chiefs in a press release.
The Move Over Law states that if a car is on a two-lane roadway, drivers are required to slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. If the speed limit is 20 mph, drivers must slow down to five mph.
Also enforced under the Move Over Law, drivers on an interstate or roadway with multiple lanes in the same direction, upon the approach of an emergency or law enforcement vehicle parked along the road, the driver must get out of the lane closest to the vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so.
Violating the Move Over Law can result in a fine and points on your license.MORE NEWS: Miami Beach Police Host Bone Marrow Registry Drive, Hope To Give Someone The 'Gift Of Life'
For more information on the Move Over Law, click here.