MIAMI (CBSMiami) – Voters in Miami-Dade County will go to the polls Tuesday to decide ballot issues and municipal elections in Miami, Miami Beach, Hialeah and Homestead.

Voters throughout the county are deciding whether to allow Jackson Health System to sell $830 million in bonds to pay for the modernization, improvement and equipping of facilities countywide.

City of Miami voters must choose a mayor, commissioners in two districts, council members for Coconut Grove, and decide on a proposed land lease in Coconut Grove to remake part of the waterfront.

The candidates for mayor of Miami are Williams A. Armbrister, Tom Baumann, Jeff Benjamin, and Tomás P. Regalado.

For Miami Commission District 3, the candidates are Frank Carollo and Alex Dominguez.

For Miami Commission District 5, the candidates are Jacqui Colyer, Richard P. Dunn II, Keon Hardemon and Robert Malone Jr.

For the Coconut Grove Village Council, voters must choose up to eight people among the following candidates: Emily Brittingham; Kate Callahan; Louise Caro; Steven Dloogoff; Ruth Ewing; Raymond August Fort; Javier Gonzalez; Gabriel Iglesias; Thaddeus Scott; Seth Sklarey; Tricia Sullivan and Linda Williams.

Finally, Miami voters will decide whether to approve a proposed lease of seven acres of city-owned waterfront and submerged lands in Coconut Grove.

In Miami Beach, voters will choose a new mayor and three commissioners.

The mayoral candidates are Steve Berke; Michael Góngora; Raphael Herman and Philip Levine.

In Commission Group 1, the candidates are Mohammed Islam; Sherry Kaplan Roberts; Micky Steinberg and Elsa Urquiza.

Commission Group 2 candidates are Dave Crystal, Jorge Exposito and Michael Grieco.

Commission Group 3 candidates are Roger Abramson, Matti Herrera Bower and Joy Malakoff.

Miami Beach voters will also decide six ballot questions.

In Homestead, voters will choose a new mayor, vice mayor and a council member.

The mayoral candidates are Mark Bell and Jeffrey D. “Jeff” Porter.

Vice mayor candidates are Norman L. Hodge, Jr., Stephen Shelley and Jimmie L. Williams, III.

Council candidates are Norman L. Hodge, Jr. and Jimmie L. Williams, III.

In Hialeah, voters will choose a mayor and two council members.

The mayoral candidates are Carlos Hernandez, Julio J. Martinez and Juan Santana.

Council Group 5 candidates are Luis Gonzalez and Julio Rodriguez.

Council Group 6 candidates are Paul “Pablito” Hernandez and Marcos Miralles.

For more information, call the Miami-Dade County Elections Department at 305-499-8683.

(©2013 CBS Local Media, a division of CBS Radio Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. CBS4 news partner The Miami Herald contributed material for this report.)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Watch & Listen LIVE