TALLAHASSEE (CBSMiami/AP) –A ban on texting while driving in the state of Florida is another step closer to becoming reality.
Tuesday, the Senate unanimously approved a bill (SB 52) that would make texting while driving a secondary offense. That means police have to first stop drivers for an offense like speeding.READ MORE: Workers Rescued From Partially Collapsed Scaffold In Hallandale Beach
A first violation would be a $30 fine plus court costs and would be a non-moving violation. A second or subsequent violation within five years would add three points to the driver’s license and a $60 fine.
The ban includes typing a text or reading a text while driving. It also includes tablet computers and mobile phones. It would exclude using a “talk-to-text” feature and allows texting while stopped at a red light.
Republican Sen. Nancy Detert said this is the fourth year she has sponsored a texting ban bill and that Florida is now one of only five states without a ban.READ MORE: FIU's Dr. Aileen Marty On Omicron Variant: 'It Looks Like It's Going To Be Very Significantly Virulent And Very Transmissible'
Detert told senators the bill will save lives, adding, “It’s become an epidemic. It needs to stop and this is the way to stop it.”
The measure still needs House approval.Local Leaders Recognize Surfside First Responders
(TM and © Copyright 2013 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2013 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)