Battier Wins Twyman-Stokes Teammate Of The Year Award

MIAMI (CBSMiami/AP) — As the Miami Heat prepare for Game 3 of the NBA Playoffs against the Indiana pacers, Shane Battier should be feeling pretty good.

He has been announced as the second winner of the NBA’s Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award.

The award recognizes selfless play, leadership, work as a role model to other players and commitment to a player’s team. On Battier’s behalf, the NBA will also make a $25,000 donation to the Battier Take Charge Foundation, his charity.

Chauncey Billups was the inaugural winner of the award last season, when Battier finished second in the balloting.

The award is named for Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes, linked by what happened in the final game of the 1957-58 regular season, when Stokes suffered a brain injury. Stokes was paralyzed, and Twyman supported him for the remainder of his life — even becoming his legal guardian and advocate.

(TM and © Copyright 2014 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2014 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)




More From CBS Miami

Weather Forecast 24/7
Top Breakfast Sandwiches In South Florida

Listen Live