Buehrle Snags NL Gold Glove Award

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – The Miami Marlins didn’t have very many positives to take out of the 2012 debacle, but starting pitcher Mark Buehrle was one of the few bright spots. He was rewarded for his work in the field Tuesday with a Gold Glove award.

Buehrle is the first Gold Glove winning pitcher in Marlins history, but has won four straight Gold Gloves dating back to his time with the Chicago White Sox.

“I think the first one and this one probably mean a little bit more than the middle two,” Buehrle told Marlins.com. “This is one award that I’ve always wanted to win. Ever since I made it to the big leagues. I’ve always taken pride to field my position.”

Buehrle is just the third pitcher to win a Gold Glove in each league, the other two being Jim Kaat and Bobby Shantz. Buerhle had a 1.000 fielding percentage and didn’t commit an error in 202.1 innings of work in 2012.

Overall, the Marlins have had nine Gold Glove winners, but haven’t had one since 2005 when Mike Lowell and Luis Castillo both won the award.


More From CBS Miami

Weather Forecast 24/7
Top Breakfast Sandwiches In South Florida

Listen Live