Incumbant Mayor Stoddard Re-Elected In S. Miami

SOUTH MIAMI (CBSMiami) – The voters have spoken in South Miami.

Residents of the small South Florida city decided on a new Mayor and two new city commissioners.

Incumbent Mayor Philip Stoddard narrowly defeated former South Miami mayor and state representative Julio Robaina. Robaina, 50, was mayor from 1998 to 2002.

Just three hundred votes separated the two.

Joshua Liebman defeated Sally Philips for the Group 2 commission seat.

Bob Welsh claimed the Group 3 seat over Gabriel Edmond and former vice-mayor Armando Oliveros.

Oliveros stepped down from the commission in October 1999 when he was facing money laundering charges. He served eight years in a Pensacola federal prison.



More From CBS Miami

Get Set With Lissette
Weather Forecast 24/7

Listen Live