## DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL, FIRST DISTRICT 2000 Drayton Drive Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0950 Telephone No. (850) 488-6151

September 10, 2021

٧.

**CASE NO.: 1D21-2685** L.T. No.: 2021-CA-1382

Governor Ron DeSantis, in his official capacity as Governor of the State of Florida; Richard Corcoran, in his official capacity as Florida Commissioner of Education; et al.

Allison Scott, individually and on behalf of W.S., a minor; Lesley Abravanel and Magnus Andersson, individually and on behalf of S.A. and A.A., minors; Kristen Thompson, individually etc. et al.;

Appellant / Petitioner(s),

Appellee / Respondent(s)

## BY ORDER OF THE COURT:

The appellants ask that we quash the trial court's vacatur of the automatic stay imposed by Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.310(b)(2). When a public officer or agency seeks appellate review, which is the case here, there is a presumption under the rule in favor of a stay, and the stay should be vacated only for the most compelling of reasons. See Fla. Dep't of Health v. People United for Med. Marijuana, 250 So. 3d 825, 828 (Fla. 1st DCA 2018). Upon our review of the trial court's final judgment and the operative pleadings, we have serious doubts about standing, jurisdiction, and other threshold matters. These doubts significantly militate against the likelihood of the appellees' ultimate success in this appeal. Given the presumption against vacating the automatic stay, the stay should have been left in place pending appellate review. Accordingly, we grant the appellants' motion, quash the trial court's order vacating the automatic stay, and reinstate the stay required by Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure 9.310(b)(2). A written order explaining this disposition will follow.

RAY, JAY, and TANENBAUM, JJ., concur.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing is (a true copy of) the original court order.

## Served:

Charles R. Gallagher III
Craig A. Whisenhunt
Elizabeth Burchell
Erin K. Barnett
James Uthmeier, GC

Charles W. Dodson
Daniel K. Bean
Erin E. Woolums
Jacqueline A. Van Laningham
Jared J Burns

Joshua G. Sheridan Martha E. Aristizabel Matthew H. Mears, GC Natalie Paskiewicz Hon. Gwen Marshall, Clerk Maria G. Pitelis Mary Louise Miller Wagstaff Michael A. Abel Tracey L. Sticco

ds



