Order Also Removes Miami-Dade From State Of EmergencyBy CBSMiami.com Team

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – On Monday afternoon, Gov. Ron DeSantis issued an executive order to expand a state of emergency ahead of Tropical Storm Elsa.

The following counties are now under the state of emergency:

READ MORE: Officials Worry Large Crowds Will Leave Mess Behind After Memorial Day Weekend

Alachua, Columbia, Dixie, Franklin, Hamilton, Gilchrist, Jefferson, Lake, Lafayette, Madison, Marion, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor and Wakulla.

Those counties are in addition to the following already covered by the state of emergency:

READ MORE: Death Of Child Pulled From Homestead Pond Under Investigation

Charlotte, Citrus, Collier,  Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Levy, Manatee, Monroe, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota.

However, under the new executive order, Miami-Dade, DeSoto and Hardee have been removed from the state of emergency.

The move comes as Tropical Storm Elsa made landfall on the southern coast of Cuba on Monday afternoon.

MORE NEWS: Florida Law Enforcement Officials Reassure Parents On Potential School Shooter Threat

The storm is expected to make landfall in Florida within the next few days.

CBSMiami.com Team