By Team

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – On Saturday afternoon, Gov. Ron DeSantis declared a state of emergency for several Florida counties, including Miami-Dade and Monroe.

The move follows the advance of Tropical Storm Elsa through the Caribbean.

READ MORE: Florida Tax Collector To Workers: Get Vaccinated Or Find A New Job

The storm is expected to make landfall in Florida early next week.

READ MORE: Fort Lauderdale Shaken Baby Case From 1984 Leads To Murder Charge.

The following counties are under a state of emergency:

Charlotte, Citrus, Collier, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Levy, Manatee, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Pasco, Pinellas and Sarasota

MORE NEWS: Two Men Arrested In 2016 Murder Of FIU Student

On Saturday afternoon Elsa was battering parts of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Team