MIAMI (CBSMiami) – South Florida luminaries attended the annual 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship Breakfast on Monday morning honoring the life and teachings of the Civil Rights leader.

Project founder, Florida Congresswoman Frederica Wilson, designated 42 Wilson Scholars in the class of 2020 who were awarded scholarships.

READ MORE: South Dade NAACP President Dwight Bullard Says Derek Chauvin Being Found Guilty ‘A Glimmer Of Hope’ But Fight Isn’t Over

It was the 27th year celebrating “mentoring, guidance, and scholarships” for the project.

Congresswoman Frederica Wilson headlined the annual event.

Congresswoman Frederica Wilson headlined the annual event. (CBS4)

Joining Wilson in headlining the event were film and TV actor Larenz Tate, exonerated member of the Central Park Five Korey Wise and Radio personality and philanthropist Tom Joyner.

Among South Florida politicians in attendance were Congresswoman Donna Shalala, Senator Marco Rubio, Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos Gimenez and Miami Mayor Francis Suarez among others.

Ambassadors from African nations were also at the annual fundraising event.

READ MORE: ‘I’m Speechless’: Rep. Frederica Wilson Among South Florida Leaders Who Believe Justice Was Served In Derek Chauvin Trial

Ahead of the event, Congresswoman Wilson said, “There is no project like this in the world.”

US Senator Marco Rubio was also in attendance.

US Senator Marco Rubio was also in attendance.

“The dream of a college education was not on their radar until they entered the project.”

This year’s event was held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Miami Airport & Convention Center.

Founders say “the project is a mentoring program that advances its mission by addressing the critical community need for mentoring among minority boys.”

“The Project, Inc. was founded in 1993 and is fulfilling the mission of guiding minority boys along a carefully chartered path to manhood and sending them to college.”

MORE NEWS: Florida Senate Eyes Social Media Crackdown

Event sponsors included Sean John, Verizon, Carnival Foundation, Miami Dolphins Foundation, PortMiami, Seaboard Corporation, FedEx, Florida Power & Light, Greater Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau, Jose Milton Foundation and Florida Lottery.