MIAMI (CBSMiami)- Even in retirement, Miami Heat legend Dwyane Wade can’t stop winning awards.

On Monday, Wade was announced as the winner of the Magic Johnson Award for the 2018-19 season.

READ MORE: Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School Principal Michelle Kefford Flies With Blue Angels

Every season, since 2001, the Pro Basketball Writers Association honors a player who combines success on the basketball court with cooperation and respect when dealing with the media and public off the court.

The PBWA consists of more than 200 NBA writers and editors, who vote on the winner.

MIAMI, FL – APRIL 09: Dwyane Wade #3 of the Miami Heat swaps jerseys with the Miami Heat team after his final regular season home game of his career against the Philadelphia 76ers at American Airlines Arena on April 09, 2019 in Miami, Florida. (Photo by Mark Brown/Getty Images)

Wade was picked out of a group of five finalists, including Bradley Beal, Rudy Gobert, Draymond Green and Nikola Vucevic.

READ MORE: Mother's Day Flowers May Be Hard To Come By This Year Due To Global Pandemic

On their website, the PBWA wrote, “Wade, along with coach Erik Spoelstra and the Heat’s media relations staff, helped build an atmosphere of mutual respect and openness with the working media.”

Wade, a 13-time NBA All-Star, was no stranger to the media this season, as he played through his highly publicized ‘One Last Dance’ farewell tour.

He is now the second player in franchise history to win the award, the first being Shane Battier during the 2012-13 season.

MORE NEWS: Pivot In The Pandemic: Restaurants On Miracle Mile Enjoy Mini-Renaissance

Wade finished this season averaging 15 points per game, four rebounds and a little over four assist. The award is another achievement the 3-time NBA champion can add to his already impressive 16-year career.