Follow CBSMIAMI.COM: Facebook | Twitter

CORAL GABLES (CBSMiami) – The University of Miami has announced it’s 2016 class of inductees for the university Sports Hall of Fame.

READ MORE: Miami-Dade PD: Pedestrian Hit Near Bird Road Southbound Entrance To Turnpike

Several well-known athletes headline this year’s selections, such as Willis McGahee, Kellen Winslow and Jon Jay.

The other inductees are Joaquin Gonzalez, Will Allen, Megan Bradley, Tamara James and Charlie Hodgson.

McGahee and Gonzalez were both on the Hurricanes 2001 National Champion football team.  Gonzalez set a then-team record in 2002 with his 49th consecutive start and went on to play in the NFL for three years.

McGahee was an All-American in 2002 and the same year was named the Big East Co-Offensive Player of the Year.  He was selected in the 1st round of the 2003 NFL Draft and had a very successful career in the NHL.

READ MORE: 'No Matter Where We Looked, It Was Sold Out': Baby Formula Shortage Is Major Concern For Parents

Winslow was not only an All-American in 2003 but he also won the John Mackey Award that year as college football’s best tight end. He was selected 6th overall in the 2004 NFL Draft by the Cleveland Browns.

Jay is known as one of the most consistent hitters in Canes history and currently has the 4th highest career batting average (.378) and 5th highest hit total (254).  He was a 2nd round pick of the St. Louis Cardinals and helped them win the World Series in 2011.

All the inductees will be honored at the 48th annual University of Miami Sports Hall of Fame Induction Banquet this spring.

Listen to the Miami Hurricanes take on the Florida State Seminoles this Saturday at 8:00 p.m. on Sports Radio 560 WQAM, your official radio home for the Canes! 

MORE NEWS: SpaceX's Dragon Cargo Ship Back On Earth After Successful Splash Down Off Florida Coast

Follow David on Twitter (@DavidDwork)