MIAMI (CBSMiami) – When the final gun sounded on the 2013 college football season, the Florida State Seminoles stood alone as the number one team in the country, ending a streak of seven consecutive national championships for the Southeastern Conference.

Florida State’s conference, the Atlantic Coast Conference, finished the BCS era with two wins in BCS games (Orange Bowl and BCS Championship game). However, in what was considered a down year for the top football conference in the land, the SEC; the final rankings still show its power.

READ MORE: NBA fines Miami Heat $25,000 for violating 'bench decorum'

The final AP Top 25 saw Florida State finish number one overall followed by the team it beat in the championship game, the Auburn Tigers. The SEC champion was followed by the Rose Bowl winner, the Michigan State Spartans at number three.

Then, rounding out the top five were two more SEC teams, the South Carolina Gamecocks, who finished second in the SEC’s Eastern Division and the Missouri Tigers, who won the SEC Eastern Division in the school’s second season in the conference.

READ MORE: Man faces several charges including pointing laser at BSO aviation unit

Finishing the year with three teams in the top five would be welcome news for most any conference, but the SEC produces national champions…except this year.

FSU was the dominant team from the first week of the season forward and even though the Seminoles had to come from behind to knock off Auburn; there was no doubt that the best team in college football in 2013 walked away with the final BCS Championship trophy.

MORE NEWS: Miami ex-Proud Boys leader Henry 'Enrique' Tarrio to stay jailed until Capitol riot trial

Here’s a look at the rest of the final AP Top 25:

  1. Florida State (60)
  2. Auburn
  3. Michigan State
  4. South Carolina
  5. Missouri
  6. Oklahoma
  7. Alabama
  8. Clemson
  9. Oregon
  10. UCF
  11. Stanford
  12. Ohio State
  13. Baylor
  14. LSU
  15. Louisville
  16. UCLA
  17. Oklahoma State
  18. Texas A&M
  19. USC
  20. Notre Dame
  21. Arizona State
  22. Wisconsin
  23. Duke
  24. Vanderbilt
  25. Washington