MIAMI (CBSMiami) – The shutout of South Florida from major football championship games continued Monday when the College Football Playoff shunned Miami for Tampa to host the 2017 National Championship Game.

The decision, first reported by ESPN’s Brett McMurphy, means the first three Football Bowl Subdivision playoff championship games will be held in: Arlington, Texas; Glendale, Arizona; and Tampa.

READ MORE: Condo Collapse: Outpouring Of Support, Sympathy For Families Impacted 'This Is An Unimaginable Tragedy':

Miami was bidding for the 2017 national championship game against San Francisco, Jacksonville, Minneapolis, San Antonio, and Tampa.

READ MORE: 'Once A Failure Occurs, Gravity Takes Over And Increases Load': Engineer Paul Danforth Gives Insight Into The Condo Collapse In Surfside

After the state put the kibosh on improvements to Sun Life Stadium, Miami has lost out on two Super Bowl hosting opportunities and now the college football national championship game.

Miami hosted the BCS Championship game this year and last hosted a Super Bowl in 2010. The NFL has said until major changes are made to Sun Life Stadium that no further Super Bowl’s will be awarded to the city.

MORE NEWS: Surfside Condo Collapse: At Least One Dead, 51 Unaccounted For; 55 Units Involved In Catastrophe

The college football playoff hasn’t made a similar declaration, but the national championship games will be played in relatively new stadiums for the first three years of its existence.