MIAMI (CBSMiami) – The Miami Hurricanes swept through the Atlantic Coast Conference and the ACC tournament and almost swept the individual awards as voted on by the league’s coaches.

The coaches selected Canes point guard Shane Larkin as the ACC Player of the Year. He beat out Joe Harris of Virginia, Erick Green of Virginia Tech, and Mason Plumlee of Duke.

Larkin was the catalyst that kept the Hurricanes machine moving all year long. Larkin averages 14.6 points, 3.9 rebounds, 4.4 assists, and 2 steals per game. Plus, when the Hurricanes needed a big shot, they turned to the 5’11” guard out of Orlando.

The ACC coaches selected Larkin’s backcourt running mate, Durand Scott, as the conference’s defensive player of the year. Scott, who also averaged 13.2 points per game, was a lockdown defender often charged with stopping the opponents’ best player.

Finally, in a show of respect, UM head coach Jim Larranaga was selected as the ACC Coach of the Year by his fellow coaches. Larranaga received nine out of 12 votes for coach of the year.