WASHINGTON (CBSMiami/AP) — President Obama has declared 11 Florida counties a disaster area for damage sustained during Tropical Storm Isaac including Monroe County in South Florida.

The declaration signed Thursday makes federal funding available to state local governments.

READ MORE: Florida Considers Teaching Risks, Benefits Of Social Media

Isaac hit Florida in late August. The Federal Emergency Management Agency denied Gov. Rick Scott’s request for funding in September. Isaac hit Florida in late August.

Scott moved to appeal the decision. He said the damage was about $10 million worse than originally thought. Damage from Isaac is estimated at $36.6 million.

READ MORE: Marlins, Sandy Alcantara Complete 5-Year, $56 Million Contract

It’s unclear why the decision was reversed.

The following counties are now eligible for federal funding: Bay, Collier, Escambia, Franklin, Martin, Monroe, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, St. Lucie and Santa Rose counties.

MORE NEWS: Hurricane Flags Burned In Key West To Mark Storm Season's End

(TM and © Copyright 2012 CBS Radio Inc. and its relevant subsidiaries. CBS RADIO and EYE Logo TM and Copyright 2012 CBS Broadcasting Inc. Used under license. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. The Associated Press contributed to this report.)