MIAMI-DADE (CBS4) — Newly-elected Miami-Dade Commissioners Xavier Suarez and Esteban Bovo, Jr. were sworn into office Monday morning.

The installation ceremony started at 10:00 a.m. at the Stephen P. Clark Center Commission Chambers in downtown Miami.

READ MORE: Heat's Bam Adebayo Suffers Torn Ligament In Right Thumb

Suarez, a former Miami Mayor, was declared the winner of District 7, over former state lawmaker and South Miami Mayor Julio Robaina. The seat, which represents a stretch from Pinecrest to Key Biscayne, was vacated when former Commissioner Carlos Gimenez resigned to run for county mayor.

READ MORE: Wrangling Continues In COVID-19 Records Fight

He was sworn in by U.S. District Judge Federico A. Moreno.

Suarez’ victory was kept secret until two days after the election due to a lawsuit filed by Richardo Corona. Corona sued Miami-Dade County saying he qualified for the race, even though he was declared ineligible for failing to meet the qualifying deadline. The 3rd District Court of Appeals tossed out the lawsuit.

MORE NEWS: 'Miya’s Law' Proposed to Require Background Checks

Esteban Bovo Jr. won the seat in District 13. He replaces former Commissioner Natacha Seijas, who was ousted in a March recall with former Mayor Carlos Alvarez. Bovo was sworn in by Miami-Dade County judge Ana M. Pando, a long-time family friend.