cbs4 My 33 Header Logo

Great Books for Kids this Holiday Season

December 11, 2013 6:00 AM

View Comments
Photo Credit Thinkstock

Photo Credit Thinkstock

From toddlers to teens, these books from Simon & Schuster have you covered for all of your gift-giving needs this year.
Mousetronaut Goes to Mars
By Mark C. Kelly and illustrated by C.F. Payne
MousetronautGoestoMars Great Books for Kids this Holiday Season

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster


In this follow-up to the New York Times bestselling picture book Mousetronaut by retired NASA Commander Mark C. Kelly and acclaimed illustrator C.F. Payne, Meteor the Mousetronaut is headed to Mars! Complete with detailed scientific material, this is a wonderfully readable and gorgeously illustrated story that your little space commander will want to read over and over. 
Bear Stays Up For Christmas
By Karma Wilson and illustrated by Jane Chapman

BearStaysUp Great Books for Kids this Holiday Season

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster


It’s the day before Christmas and Bear sleeps soundly with a big snore. His forest friends don’t want him to miss another Christmas and are determined to keep him awake. Bear tries very hard to stay awake as he helps find the right Christmas tree and sing carols—but it’s his friends who fall asleep this year! With whimsical illustrations and lyrical text, this charming picture book is a must-read this holiday season. 
A Creature Was Stirring
By Clement Clarke Moore with illustrations by Carter Goodrich

ACreatureWasStirring Great Books for Kids this Holiday Season

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster


There’s no better story to share on Christmas Eve than the classic poem, The Night Before Christmas. Acclaimed New Yorker illustrator Carter Goodrich’s luminous and breathtaking artwork put a modern spin on the classic and make this picture book an essential update for any child’s holiday library.
The Dork Diaries Boxed Set
By Rachel Renée Russell

This boxed set contains the first six books in the New York Times bestselling series plus the interactive How To Dork Your Diary, your middle grade reader can get to know Nikki Maxwell as she navigates her way through middle school. Included is a special collectible poster which fans can pin up to proclaim their love of all things Dorky! A great next read for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

VIDEO: Meet Nikki Maxwell!

Beyonders: The Complete Set
By Brandon Mull

Beyonders BoxedSet Great Books for Kids this Holiday Season

Photo Credit Simon and Schuster


The Beyonders trilogy is an epic fantasy, filled with action, suspense, and friendship. When Jason and Rachel fall into a new world called Lyrian, they embark on an extraordinary adventure as they piece together clues that will help them bring down Lyrian’s terrifying leader. Give this to fans of Tolkien’s The Hobbit or John Flanagan’s The Ranger’s Apprentice.
The Case of the Time-Capsule Bandit (Randi Rhodes, Ninja Detective)
By Octavia Spencer

From Academy Award winning actress Octavia Spencer, this delightful new middle grade series stars Randi Rhodes, the world’s first ninja detective. Deer Creek is a small town that depends on the success of its Founder’s Day Festival, but when the town’s treasure and festival’s main attraction—the time capsule—goes missing, Randi Rhodes and her best friend are determined to solve the case and save the day. Think Nancy Drew meets Bruce Lee in this high-spirited and entertaining novel and great for grades 3-7!
Listen to a sample of the book:

The Mortal Instruments
By Cassandra Clare

Whether your teen has saw City of Bones in theaters this summer or not, Cassandra Clare’s The Moral Instruments series is the hottest YA ticket to read. With the first five books in the series, teen readers can follow Clary Fray as she discovers the secret world of the Shadowhunters and New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation. Perfect for fans of Twilight or The Vampire Diaries.

VIDEO: Cassandra Clare dishes out the 411 on The Mortal Instruments:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
By Benjamin Alire Sáenz

From critically acclaimed author Benjamin Alire Sáenz, this award-winning novel is a tender look at family and friendship. Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it all with a peculiar view of the world. As the unlikely pair grows into the closest of friends, they discover important truths about themselves and the people they want to be. Great for teen readers who love Rainbow Rowell, John Green, or David Levithan.

Listen to a sample of the book:

This list was curated by Simon & Schuster, a CBS Company. For more information on any of these books or audiobooks, please visitwww.simonandschuster.com
View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,475 other followers