Gone will be the days of distracted drivers’ mid-conversation via text—that’s if Gov. Rick Scott signs the bill to ban texting while driving.
A last minute change to a bill that would ban texting while driving could keep it from passing in the Senate.
A federal bill that could cost online retailers and customers more money passed a second Senate vote Thursday
TALLAHASSEE (CBSMiami/AP) – After clearing its final committee hurdle on Monday, a bill that would ban texting while driving is headed to the Senate floor.
Both the Senate version of the bill and House version, which is going to the floor there, make texting while driving a secondary offense. That means police would have to stop a driver for a primary offense before they could be cited for texting while driving.
A first time violation would be a $30 fine plus court costs. Drivers caught again within five years would be hit with a $60 fine and three points on their license.
“Hopefully, we’ve gone beyond public support into public frustration that we haven’t passed something,” said Sen. Nancy Detert, R-Venice, the bill’s sponsor. “I think this is the year.”
In the past four years, texting ban bills have failed under Republican opposition due to government intrusion concerns.
A bill aiming to expand access to health care coverage for Florida children may not be passed in time.
A senator who last month opposed a bill that would create domestic partnerships for unmarried couples will support a new, narrower version when it comes up Tuesday in the Senate Children, Families and Elder Affairs Committee.
A state senator from Venice is hoping the third time is the charm to pass legislation which would ban drivers from typing or reading texts, emails or other electronic messages while behind the wheel.
A legislative committee in Tallahassee has voted to ban texting while driving.
People without jobs in Florida could get less money in unemployment compensation under a bill passed Tuesday by the Florida Senate. The House has passed a similar bill, and must now consider the Senate’s changes.
A bill that would change the way the state calculates its minimum wage is ready go to the full Senate, after approval Tuesday by the Budget Committee.