When the clock strikes midnight to ring in the new year, it will also ring in an increase for Florida and a dozen other states. On January 1st, 2014 Florida’s minimum wage will increase by 14 cents to $7.93 per hour, benefiting an estimated 416,000 low-wage workers in the state.
Broward County commissioner Marty Kiar and state Senator Dwight Bullard talk to Jim DeFede about what they experienced and learned after living on minimum wage for a week. Both politicians are hoping to highlight the need for an increase in minimum wage, which is currently $7.79 an hour.
A Florida House committee approved a bill Thursday that would prevent local governments and voters from setting local minimum wages, setting policies on items like earned sick leave, and bar preference for local government contracts based on wages or compensation.
Senator Marco Rubio cast a controversial vote against the Violence Against Women Act Tuesday and followed that on Wednesday by telling CBS This Morning he doesn’t support having a minimum wage law.
Mitt Romney’s economic plan basically says if you make $22.50 an hour with benefits, you make too much money; and if you make $22.5 million, then you pay too much in taxes.
The new year will ring in a new raise for Florida workers who make minimum wage.
As you recover from that New-Year’s hangover, you can think about some of the new state laws that take effect with the new year. Everything from how much some people make, to the unemployment people get, and even to the tattoos they might consider are covered by new state laws.
Florida officials announced Monday that Florida’s minimum wage will be rising by 36 cents to $7.67 per hour starting January 1.
If you get paid the minimum wage in Florida, you’re getting a raise starting Wednesday, June 1.
If you get paid the minimum wage in Florida, you’re about to get a raise.