Battier Named 2013 Magic Johnson Award Winner

View Comments
Portland Trail Blazers v Miami Heat

Miami Heat
Upcoming Games

Buy Heat Tickets Full Schedule
Wednesday Dec 17
vs. Jazz
Friday Dec 19
vs. Wizards
Sunday Dec 21
vs. Celtics
Heat Central
Buy Heat NBA Champs Gear Buy Heat Tickets NBA Scoreboard NBA Standings Team STATS Team Schedule Team Roster Team Injuries
Miami Heat

MIAMI (CBS4) – The awards for the Miami Heat continue to pile up this season with arguably the team’s best bench player, Shane Battier, receiving the 2013 Magic Johnson Award.

The award is given by the Pro Basketball Writers Association to a player who combines excellence on the court with cooperation with the media and fans.

Battier beat out a who’s who of stars for the award including fellow Heat stars Ray Allen and LeBron James as well as Kevin Durant, Manu Ginobli, and Dirk Nowitzki to name a few. Bosh and Allen have won the award in the past.

This was the first time Battier has been selected to win the Magic Johnson Award and is the first ever in Heat team history.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,660 other followers