Report: Big East Loses Divisions In 2013

MIAMI (CBSMiami) – The once powerful Big East Conference is but a shell of its former self after multiple teams have exited the conference, or chosen to stay in another conference. Now, the conference has to ditch a plan to have divisions starting next season.

The planned divisions were in place when both Boise State and San Diego State were set to become members of the conference. However, in the last month, both teams have decided to remain in the Mountain West Conference rather than join the Big East.

According to, the Big East’s 10 teams will play a total of eight conference games in 2013 facing every team except one. Six Big East teams were going to play both Boise State an San Diego State, but have had those games replaced with new conference foes, according to

The Big East’s lone remaining power team is the Louisville Cardinals. The Cards are coming off a Sugar Bowl that saw them thump the Florida Gators and could be preseason top 10. The Cardinals were going to play both the Broncos and Aztecs, with both of those teams gone, Louisville will play Houston and Temple.

Needless to say, Louisville’s path to the final BCS games next season will likely be much, much easier without Boise State on the schedule. Louisville plays Central Florida, Houston, Memphis, and Rutgers at home; and Cincinnati, UConn, South Florida, and Temple on the road.


More From CBS Miami

Weather Forecast 24/7
Top Breakfast Sandwiches In South Florida

Listen Live