MIAMI ( – The National Hockey League is doing their best impersonation of a college football conference Monday, approving a complete realignment of the league into four conferences.

The proposal will move Florida to a division that will include: the Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, and Tampa Bay Lightning.

The move will increase travel expenses and the duration of road trips, but it would give fans across Canada the option of coming to South Florida to see their team take on the Panthers.

Based on the new format, the top four teams in each conference will make the playoffs.

The teams would play the first two rounds within their division, according to the Associated Press.

The league considered two plans to accommodate Atlanta’s move to Winnipeg this past summer.

The first would have moved the Jets to the Western Conference’s Central Division and either Detroit or Columbus to the Southeast in the Eastern Conference.

But there were issues with that plan that kept compounding with each potential solution as other franchises wanted to use realignment to solve their concerns, as well.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

More From CBS Miami

What Are People Talking About?
Weather Forecast 24/7Check for current temps and what to expect throughout the day

Watch & Listen LIVE