Broward School Board Taps New Chair, Vice Chair

FT. LAUDERDALE (CBSMiami) – It’s a changing of the guard at the Broward County School Board where members have elected a new Chair and Vice Chair.

The new Chairwoman is Ann Murray who represents District 1. Murray began her career with the Broward County Public Schools in 1970 where she worked her way through the ranks in the Transportation Department. She also served as a Broward Teachers Union Shop Steward and Federation of Public Employees Shop Steward. Elected to the School Board in 2008, Murray currently serves on the Board of Directors, Broward Regional Health Planning Council, City of Hollywood General Obligation Bond Oversight Committee and the Broward Democratic Executive Committee.

Laurie Rich Levinson, who has been on the board since 2010 representing District 6, was elected Vice Chair.

Levinson has been a parent activist in Broward County for over 15 years, involved at the school to district levels. She is a former chair of the Central Area Advisory Council.  Levinson also was a School Advisory Forum chair and served on the School Advisory Council at the elementary, middle and high school levels.


More From CBS Miami

Weather Forecast 24/7
Top Breakfast Sandwiches In South Florida

Listen Live